EUROPEAN super lightweight title contender Joe Hughes and former local fighter, trainer and promoter Ricky Porter were among the guests as Malmesbury Amateur Boxing Club held a first boxing show in the town for more than 10 years on Saturday.

Hughes, who started his amateur career at the club before moving on to the paid ranks in which he will take on unbeaten European champion Anthony Yigit in Leicester on Saturday, was among 200 at the sold-out event at the town's Activity Zone, held in memory of Tony Stannard, who died this year having run the club for more than 30 years.

Home fighter Luc Rees won the Tony Stannard Memorial Trophy for best Malmesbury boxer of the night, showing skilful footwork and body movement to earn a points decision against Joshua Fox, of Horseshoe ABC.

Malmesbury coach Mike Rees said: "Luc possess both the ability to fight at close quarters and box at range. He faces a tough trip to Cornwall this weekend where he will fight the far more experienced Taylor Barber, from Bude.''

Clubmate Sam Kirby also performed well, despite losing a majority points decision against Londoner Trevena, from the same Finchley club as world heavyweight champion Anthony Joshua, while Jensen Irving won a unanimous points verdict over Sam Miller, from the nearby Chippenham Emeralds club.

Malmesbury's Saul Dagnall Jacob Liddington and Brian Harris were all impressive points winners on their debuts, while 18-year-old Ollie Evans also performed well in defeat against Bath's Aymane Bourhfir.

Stannard's family also attended the event presented a large framed picture of Tony Stannard to the club which will be hung in their gym.


Malmesbury unless stated

Skills bouts - Sam Stringer v Brandon Charnock (Launceston), Damian Fitzpatrick v Tresillian Gwennap (Launceston).

Morgan Cole lost Aaron Singh (Barking) unanimous pts, Leo Riozzi (Emeralds) beat Tyler Hunt (Horseshoe) pts, Alfie Ryder (Strood) Jack Venton (Horseshoe) unanimous pts, Matt Pizzey beat Talal Attia (Bath City), unanimous pts, Lewis Roberts beat Lennon Swords (Marston), unanimous pts, Ollie Evans lost to Aymane Bourhfir (Bath City), unanimous pts, Shane Smith (Primal BA) beat Keegan Woodhall (Saltash), ref stopped contest in round two, Jed Davies (Barnstaple) beat Archie Nash (Portland), unanimous pts, Jacob Liddington beat Lewis Speirs (H Hempstead) unanimous pts, Ross Griffiths (Emeralds) lost George Joyce (H Hempstead), majority pts, Saul Dagnall beat Brandon Zinn (Saltash), majority pts, Luc Rees beat Joshua Fox (Horseshoe), unanimous pts, Brian Harris beat Richard Thalwald (Kings BA), majority pts, Sam Kirby lost to Laron Trevena (Finchley), majority pts, Jensen Irving beat Sam Miller (Emeralds), unanimous pts