JASON Doyle collected seven points at the latest round of the world championship at Saturday night’s Swedish Grand Prix.

The Swindon Robins skipper recorded three second-placed finishes from his five rides – but no wins – as Russian Emil Sayfutdinov took victory to move into a three-way tie at the top of the world championship standings.

Sayfutdinov earned a total of 17 points in Hallstavik and beat Martin Vaculik, Maciej Janowski and Max Fricke in the final to finish on the top step of the podium.

That haul has lifted Sayfutdinov up to 47 points for the year, tied at the top of the leaderboard alongside Poland’s Patryk Dudek and Danish rider Leon Madsen.

Australian ace Doyle moves up eighth on 30 points from the first four Grands Prix of the season following his exploits in Sweden.

Doyle finished third in his opening ride but bettered that in his next two outings as he twice finished second.

No further points were added in the Aussie’s fourth ride as he came fourth before he got back to form with another second-placed finish in his fifth ride.

That saw Doyle finish the heat stages on seven points, although it was not enough to see him through to the semi-finals.

Meanwhile, victory for Sayfutdinov was his first GP success for six years, and the Russian said: “It feels amazing. I have been working for that for a long time – six years. When I came back to the SGP series in 2017, it was hard for me. I had my goal and a plan, but it didn’t work.

“Today everything worked very well and my team is also working very well, so I say thank you to them.

“I’ll just keep going and looking forward. I scored some good points and now I am leader with Dudek and Madsen. I am really happy about that.

“But to be honest, I have now forgotten about today. I am just concentrating, and I know we have a lot more rounds and heats to come. We need to keep scoring the points and it will be good.”

NORRBIL SWEDISH SGP SCORES: 1 Emil Sayfutdinov 17, 2 Martin Vaculik 16, 3 Maciej Janowski 13, 4 Max Fricke 11, 5 Matej Zagar 10, 6 Fredrik Lindgren 10, 7 Bartosz Zmarzlik 8, 8 Niels-Kristian Iversen 8, 9 Leon Madsen 7, 10 Oliver Berntzon 7, 11 Jason Doyle 7, 12 Patryk Dudek 7, 13 Antonio Lindback 6, 14 Artem Laguta 5, 15 Janusz Kolodziej 3, 16 Robert Lambert 3, 17 Pontus Aspgren DNR, 18 Kim Nilsson DNR.

WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1 Emil Sayfutdinov 47, 2 Patryk Dudek 47, 3 Leon Madsen 47, 4 Bartosz Zmarzlik 44, 5 Martin Vaculik 44, 6 Fredrik Lindgren 42, 7 Niels-Kristian Iversen 32, 8 Jason Doyle 30, 9 Janusz Kolodziej 29, 10 Artem Laguta 27, 11 Matej Zagar 27, 12 Max Fricke 27, 13 Maciej Janowski 24, 14 Robert Lambert 24, 15 Antonio Lindback 23, 16 Tai Woffinden 15, 17 Bartosz Smektala 10, 18 Oliver Berntzon 7, 19 Vaclav Milik 4, 20 Matic Ivacic 2.