MPs have backed a Brexit deal delay

The vote in the House of Commons was 322-306 to delay Brexit.

There was a majority of 16 for independent MP Sir Oliver Letwin's amendment designed to rule out a no-deal exit.

Wiltshire MPs James Gray (North Wiltshire), Dr Andrew Murrison (South West Wiltshire), Claire Perry (Devizes) and Michelle Donelan (Chippenham), all voted against the Letwin amendment.

Sir Oliver's motion "withholds approval" for Boris Johnson's Brexit deal until legislation implementing it has been passed.

It means the Prime Minister must by law ask the European Union for a further extension by 11pm tonight.

The PM said: "I will not negotiate a delay with the EU. Nor does the law force me to.

"No delays. I will continue to do all I can to negotiate a deal by October 31."

The PM said he will bring forward legislation next week to implement the EU Withdrawal Agreement Bill.

Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn said the PM "must now comply" with the requirements of the Benn Act.

"He said the people should have the final say.

The vote on Sir Oliver's amendment was due to be followed by a vote on the main government motion whether or not to back the deal. 

That motion - amended because of the previous vote - was approved without MPs going into the House of Commons division lobbies.

A vote on a cross-party amendment on preventing a no-deal referendum and holding a second referendum was also dropped.

Six Labour MPs rebelled to vote with the Government. Ten former Conservative independent MPs voted for the Letwin amendment.

Jacob Rees-Mogg, the Leader of the Commons, said there will be another chance on Monday for MPs to vote on the deal.