A CORSHAM pub chef has been nominated for an award by MP for Chippenham, Michelle Donelan.

Chef Leigh Evans, of the Methuen Arms has been nominated for the 2017/2018 Parliamentary Pub Chef of the Year Award.

Mr Leigh who reached the quarter finals on Master Chef the Professionals in 2008 will be judged by a panel of expert judges to decide if he will go through to the final stages.

He said: "Myself along with the team are on a journey to turn the Methuen into something really special. A real food destination pub, that offers fantastic food, beer and wines, with relaxed casual service.

"Business is increasing rapidly, along with reputation. We are attracting national recognition, so are making big strides in getting this place to where it deserves to be."

Chefs from up and down the country will compete for the accolade of Pub Chef of the Year and Young Pub Chef of the Year.

They will be judged by an expert panel , who will shortlist contenders for the cook-off, where they will display their skills to organisers, the British Pub Association, and judges from sponsors Nestlé Professional, the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group and Paul Merrett.

Michelle Donelan MP, said: "Pubs are of huge importance to my constituency for the role they play within the community and the benefit they add to both the local and national economy.

"My constituency has many outstanding chefs and following much deliberation I am delighted to nominate Chef Leigh Evans of the Methuen Arms for the Pub Chef Awards 2017/18.

"Not only has he taken on many apprenticeships, Leigh also provides fantastic training for new starters. As a result of this, a large number of pubs in my constituency are now staffed and managed by those he trained.

"We have also held a number of events at the Methuen Arms and I have always been impressed by the consistently high standard of food and its warm and welcoming environment.

"I will be keeping my fingers crossed for Leigh and the rest of the team at the Methuen Arms and hope that they receive the recognition they deserve for all their hard work."

The award will be presented in February at the House of Commons.