Kennet District Council's new political leader is a former Deputy Chief Constable who became an Inspector General of Police for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Lionel Grundy, who was returned as member for the Cheverell ward on Kennet District Council last week, was unanimously voted in as leader at the first full meeting of the new council on Tuesday.

Coun Grundy was not present for the voting, having left on holiday on Saturday, but he told the Gazette: "I am absolutely delighted to have been elected and I hope to continue with the support of all my fellow councillors.

"Fighting the county council's bid to create a unitary authority will be our main priority."

Mr Grundy was in the police service all his working life, starting in Liverpool before moving on to Surrey and Hampshire.

He studied at the police academy at Bramshill and came to Wiltshire Constabulary as an assistant chief constable.

He retired as deputy chief constable in 1992. He went to London where he was appointed a senior police adviser for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. As Inspector General for eight or nine years, he went to the Caribbean, Gibraltar and to Commonwealth countries, attempting to improve the management of police forces there.

Arriving back in Wiltshire, he found a life of gardening and reading the paper unchallenging.

He was soon approached about entering local politics.

Because he had fallen out with the Conservative Party over its treatment of Margaret Thatcher, he stood as a Liberal Democrat initially.

He later returned to his roots in the Tory Party.

The Tories, already in control at Kennet, extended their majority at last week's election and now have 34 councillors.

The new council is as follows: Aldbourne: Chris Humphries (Con), All Cannings: Tony Molland (Con), Bedwyn: Stella Zweck (Con), Bishops Cannings: Tony Adamson (Con), Bromham and Rowde: Philip Brown (Con) and Janet Giles (Con), Burbage: Stuart Wheeler (Con), Cheverell: Lionel Grundy (Con), Collingbourne: Charles Howard (Con), Devizes East: Julian Beinhorn (Con), Tony Duck (Devizes Guardians), Peter Evans (Con), Devizes North: Sue Evans (Con), Paula Winchcombe (Con), Devizes South: Jeff Ody (Devizes Guardians), Ray Parsons (Con), Ludgershall: Ken Beard (Con), Chris Williams (Con), Marlborough East: Peggy Dow (Lib Dem), Edwina Fogg (Ind), Marlborough West: Stewart Dobson (Con), Nick Fogg (Ind), Milton Lilbourne: James Caldwell (Con), Netheravon: Alan Wood (UKIP), Ogbourne: David Hunter (Con), Pewsey: Anne Hayhoe (Ind), Jerry Kunkler (Con), Pewsey Vale: Judith Triggs (Con), Potterne: Clyde Hoddinott (Ind), Ramsbury: Susan Findlay (Ind), Brian Twigger (Con), Roundway: Geoff Brewer (Con), Laura Mayes (Con), Seend: Anthony Lake (Con), Shalbourne: Peter Veasey (Con), The Lavingtons: Richard Gamble (Con), Jerry Willmott (Con), Tidworth, Ludgershall South: Andrew Connolly (Con), Steven Dagger (Con), Stephen Miles (Con), Upavon: Dominic Campbell (Con), Urchfont: Jonathon Seed (Con), West Selkley: Gretchen Rawlins (Con).