REIGNING champions Clarrie Dunbar are still on course to retain the prestigious Wessex League crown, writes DAVE EATON.

The holders booked their place in the 2013-14 play-off semi-finals with a 21-shot (83-62) win over MidGlos (Brockworth, Gloucester) in the quarter-finals on Sunday.

Dunbar, winners of the central region, took the honours on three of the four rinks against the north region runners-up and only lost on the other by one shot.

Andy Colebrooke’s unchanged rink again clocked up a double-figures victory, this time by a ten shots margin while Russell Francis’ four with a changed front two players fared even better with an 11-shot success.

The two away rinks at Brockworth kept matters tight as they won on Neil Collett’s rink by one shot while Graham Shadwell’s four lost by one.

Clarrie will play Exonia (Exeter) at Plymouth IBC on April 6 (11am) – a repeat of last year’s semi-final which they won 72-66 at Oxford & District.


Home - Rink 1: Dick Discombe, lan Perkins, Keith Bailey & Russell Francis beat Graham Griffiths 26-15. Rink 2: John Freeman, Alan Colebrooke, Duncan McGovern & Andy Colebrooke beat Rob Griffiths 20-10.

Away - Rink 1: Andy Taylor, Dale Taylor, Terry Perkins & Graham Shadwell lost to S Lloyd 18-19. Rink 2: Brian Hawkins, Mike Sawyer, Craig Doughty & Neil Collett beat Eddie Kavanagh 19-18.

Score: Clarrie Dunbar beat MidGlos 83-62.


Second round: Kingsthorpe (Northampton) 81 Plymouth 42; Cotswold (Stroud) 105 Dolphin (Poole) 55; Exonia (Exeter) 84 Bournemouth 37; MidGlos (Gloucester) 62 Clarrie Dunbar (holders) 83.

Semi-finals (April 6) – at Plymouth IBC (11am): Exonia v Clarrie Dunbar; At West Berks (Newbury 11am): Kingsthorpe v Cotswold Final (April 27): to be played at Rugby IBC.

DUNBAR men’s hopes of a third successive Somerset County Double Rinks title are very much alive after a resounding semi-final victory over Victoria (Street).

They took the plaudits with a 19-shot success as they ran out 42-23 victors, winning on both rinks.

Terry Perkins’ four away at Street won by 11 shots while Andy Colebrooke’s quartet at home won by eight shots.

Clarrie now meet St Andrews (Weston-S-M) in the final at Taunton Deane on March 29.


Home: John Freeman, Brian Hawkins, Duncan McGovern & Andy Colebrooke beat Derek Bradshaw 22-14.

Away: Andy Taylor, Dale Taylor, Craig Doughty & Terry Perkins beat Neil Kunc 20-9.

Score: Clarrie Dunbar beat Victoria 42-23.

Despite losing their last game, Clarrie men have still won the Somerset County League Division One title for the first time in their history.

They had already accured sufficient points to take the crown, despite losing their final game to Purnell (Paulton) 98-68 and only taking two points out of 16 for a solitary rink success.


Home - Rink 1: Peter Hooley, Alan Clark, David Pitcher & Trevor Batchelor beat B Gay 31-12. Rink 2: Keith Windel, John Smith, Francis Parker, Alan Totterdale lost to H Lorimer 19-23.

Away - Rink 1: Paul Hewitt, Mike Mason, Graham Jones & Fred Pope lost to R Richards 10-35. Rink 2: Keith Haines, Dave Jones, Dave Shepherd & Colin Easton lost to J Matthews 8-28.

Score: Clarrie Dunbar lost to Purnell 68-98 and by 2pts to 14.

CLARRIE Ladies A side have qualified for the final of the North Somerset Ladies Presidents Trophy.

They overturned the formbook to book their spot in the last two thanks to a fine fightback in their match against Clevedon when running out 46-30 winners.

They were 26-22 down across the board at 15 ends but then picked-up a glut of shots to roar into a 39-28 lead at 18 ends and finally win by 16 shots overall.

Clarrie Ladies will now play Bristol in the final away at Liberty Lane, Ashton Vale on Sunday (10am).

Clarrie and Clevedon are due to lock horns again tomorrow (Saturday) when the two clubs meet in the final of the Optika Top Nine competition at Taunton Deane (10am).

Clarrie Dunbar B team face Clevedon in three disciplines – pairs, triples and fours with one point being awarded for a win in each format.

Should the teams be tied on points at the finish then shots scored will decide the winner.


Presidents Trophy v Clevedon, Home: Shirley Samuels, Teresa King, Marcia Hartley & Jeanette Wheeler beat Margaret Dyer 29-18.

Away: Sadie Farrell, Nesta Parfitt, Nicki Keefe & Jo Dunford beat Stephanie Branfield 17-12.

Score: Clarrie Dunbar beat Clevedon 46-30.

THE QUARTET of John Freeman, Keith Bailey, Andy Colebrooke and Russell Francis have qualified for the final stages in the men’s national fours championship.

The Clarrie foursome booked their place in the last 16 on April 7-8 at Melton & District against Watford with a 21-13 victory in the inter-area fours final over Area 29 winners Minehead skipped by Mervyn May.

A HOST of local players will be taking part this weekend in the inaugural North Wilts Open Singles Tournament which forms part of the tour.

A top class field has been assembled and will be chasing the £1,000 top prize to the winner.