The Oliver Cromwell, St Edith’s Marsh, Bromham. Tel: 01380 850293.

7:00pm Saturday 25th October 2014

I’ve passed the Oliver Cromwell many times on my journeys around Wiltshire.

Let's Do Lunch - Albany Palace, Park Road, Trowbridge. Tel: 01225 781980. Web: jdwetherspoon.co.uk/ home

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

12:00pm Saturday 25th October 2014

There are few things more reliable in life than a JD Wetherspoon pub, with the national chain’s ability to serve solid, but unspectacular, food at cheap prices almost unquestioned.

Quarrymans Arms, Box Hill, Box, SN13 3HN. Tel: 01225 743569. Web: www.quarrymans-arms.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 18th October 2014

We've always found this a comfortable, friendly, no-frills – in a good way – pub and it was pleasing to find it was no different in the evening.

Frankie and Benny’s, St Stephen’s Leisure Park, Trowbridge, BA14 8AH. Tel: 01225 719404. Web: www.frankieandbennys.com

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 11th October 2014

Until the leisure park complex opened in Trowbridge, the major dining chains had practically ignored the town, apart from drive-thru fast food outlets. Now we can experience all the choice you get in larger towns and cities.

Farrington Park, Marsh Lane, Farrington Gurney. Tel: 01761 451596. Web: www.farringtonpark.co.uk.

7:00pm Saturday 4th October 2014

I was confused by the confusion of the man answering the phone at Farrington Park when I rang to book a table. After all, that’s what the website advises you to do. He sounded baffled by my request and left me hanging on the phone for a while, I guess to check out with the manager whether that was OK, before confirming that yes, I could have a table.

The Marlborough, High Street, Marlborough, SN8 1HF. Tel: 016172 515011.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 4th October 2014

We emerged with plenty of food for thought from a talk on the First World War poets given by the former Archbishop of Canterbury, Rowan Williams, at the Marlborough LitFest on Saturday.

Moonrakers Pub, Nursteed Road, Devizes, SN10 3AJ. Tel: 01380 725999.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 27th September 2014

There cannot be many people who do not view the £200,000 transformation of the Moonrakers pub, in Nursteed Road, as a good thing.

Yammo, Walcot Street, Bath, BA1 5BD. Tel: 01225 938328. Web: www.yammo.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 20th September 2014

After a day shopping in Bath with friends, we decided to stop for a late lunch at the Neapolitan restaurant Yammo! in Walcot Street.

Pizza Express, Southgate Shopping Centre, Bath, SN12 6AD Tel: 01225 706496 Website: www.pizzaexpress.com

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

5:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

Since the branch of Pizza Express near the Theatre Royal in Bath stopped taking bookings a few years ago I’ve become a stranger to the chain.

The Milk Churn, Commerce Way, Melksham, SN12 6AD. Tel: 01225 706496. Email: milkchurn.melksham@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 30th August 2014

It's not often you get a new pub open, so we dropped in on a Sunday to check out the area’s latest offering, on the A350 just outside Melksham itself.

The Angel Inn, High Street, Heytesbury, BA12 0ED. Tel 01985 840330.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

With a day off to savour, we fancied a meal out, and ended up at The Angel in Heytesbury, one of the many Wiltshire villages which since being bypassed has become home to pubs where you can relax and watch the world go by.

The Waterfront, Pewsey Wharf.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

The conversation went like this: ‘Mmm’... ‘Mmm’... ‘Mmm’ and several times more when we tasted a new ingredient on our plates.

The Crown, New Park Street, Devizes. Tel: 01380 722692. Web: www.crowndevizes.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 16th August 2014

Having been to The Crown for a couple of drinks on a few occasions, my partner and I decided to try its food.

Let's Do Lunch - Nova Cafe, 40 Havelock Street, Swindon,

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

12:00pm Saturday 16th August 2014

It was a sweltering Saturday in Swindon town centre so we stopped for a bite to eat.

The Boathouse, Bradford on Avon Marina, Widbrook, BA15 1UD. Tel: 01225 309318.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 9th August 2014

When an old university friend mentioned he’d be passing through Wiltshire a few Sundays ago I seized the opportunity to take him out for dinner and a long overdue catch-up.

Eating out review- Los Amigos, Chippenham

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

2:00pm Wednesday 30th July 2014

ON A pleasantly hot Thursday evening we ventured into Los Amigos tapas bar, after hearing the sound of flamenco guitar inside.

lunch review- Marlborough Deli

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

10:36am Wednesday 30th July 2014

During a hectic jazz festival my sister and I took a break from the music and enjoyed a bit to eat at The Marlborough Delicatessen.

The George, Sandy Lane, near Chippenham, SN15 2PX . Tel: 01380 850403, web: www.thegeorgesandylane.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 26th July 2014

My husband and I were warmly welcomed when we visited The George Inn at Sandy Lane to see how the pub is faring after its change of ownership.

Foresters Arms, Goose Street, Beckington. Tel: 01373 830864.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 19th July 2014

A last-minute decision for a midweek meal out proved to be a great choice.

The Carpenters Arms, Church Street, Lacock, SN15 2LB. Tel: 01249 730203

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 12th July 2014

Lacock has always been one of my family’s favourite places, so a wander round the streets and a spot of lunch seemed the perfect way to celebrate a birthday.

Prezzo, St Stephen’s Place, Trowbridge. Phone: 01225 754569. Web: www.prezzorestaurants.co.uk/ restaurant/trowbridge

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald:

7:00pm Saturday 5th July 2014

With some time to spare before England’s first World Cup group game against Italy, what better place to go for a meal than the recently opened Italian restaurant Prezzo.

The Barge, Honeystreet, Pewsey. Tel: (01672) 851705. Web: www.the-barge-inn.com

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Barge’s traditional frontage hides a smart interior with rock chic appeal

7:00pm Saturday 28th June 2014

The more things change, the more they stay the same. So the saying goes and, not having visited the Barge for nigh on 15 years, I wondered how it might have changed in that time.

Patisserie Valerie, 20 High Street, Bath, BA1 5AJ. Tel 01225 444826. Web: www.patisserie-valerie.co.uk/bath-cafe.aspx

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: Patisserie Valerie, 20 High Street, Bath, BA1 5AJ. Tel 01225 444826. Web: www.patisserie-valerie.co.uk/bath-cafe.aspx

7:00pm Saturday 21st June 2014

Lunch on the run when on a shopping trip can be tricky.

The Palm, A4 Bath Road, Froxfield, Marlborough, SN8 3HT. Tel: (01672) 871818. Web: www.thepalmindian.com

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: By day The Palm may look nondescript, but at night it shines as brightly as its delicious Indian cuisine

7:00pm Saturday 21st June 2014

The last time I ate in this neck of the woods, some ten years ago or more, there used to be a Mexican restaurant and my memory of it was that it was more like a shack.

The Crown, 2 Bathford Hill, Bathford, Bath BA1 7SL. Tel: 01225 852426.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The spruced-up Crown, in Bathford, is a marked improvement on its old look and makes for a pleasant Saturday night out

7:00pm Saturday 14th June 2014

Tucked into the foot of the hill, around the corner from the bottom of Sally in the Woods, this pub will be a familiar landmark to those who make the journey to and from Bath.

Jimmy's World Bar and Grill, Dorchester Street, Bath BA1 1SS. Tel: 01225 426802. Web: jimmysworldgrill.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: Jimmy's World Bar and Grill, Dorchester Street, Bath BA1 1SS. Tel: 01225 426802. Web: jimmysworldgrill.co.uk

7:00pm Saturday 7th June 2014

I’ve always been a bit sceptical about how ‘all you can eat’ restaurants can possibly offer food that’s truly tasty: after a visit to Jimmy’s in Bath I stand corrected.

Pino's Ristorante, New Road, Marlborough, SN8 1AH. Tel: (01672) 512 969. Web: www.pinosristorante.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: It may be just of the Marlborough main street, but diners at Pino’s can imagine themselves on the shores of Lake Garda

7:00pm Saturday 7th June 2014

Quietly tucked away from Marlborough’s high street, Pino’s is a wonderful destination for an intimate dinner, or a quiet catch-up with good friends over great food.

The Milking Parlbour, The Old Manor House Hotel, Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL. Tel: 01225 777393. Web: www.oldmanorhotel.com

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Milking Parlour at The Old Manor House Hotel, Trowbridge, currently offers cut-price meals with Amazon vouchers

7:00pm Saturday 31st May 2014

We were lucky enough to be told about an Amazon voucher system, which offers a five-course taster menu for two at a huge discount on the menu’s £55 per person price. The old adage of ‘if it sounds too good to be true then it usually is’ certainly didn’t apply here.

The Goddard Arms, 1 High Street, Swindon, SN1 3EG. Tel: 01793 619090.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Goddard Arms has undergone a revamp but some of the food served was not up to par

7:00pm Saturday 24th May 2014

The Goddards, as it is known by locals, has undergone a revamp, and its publicity material said food was a “big focus”, so we tried it out.

Joya, 6 Newmarket Row, Grand Parade, Bath BA2 4AN. Tel: 01225 460240. Web: www.joyarestaurant.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Joya restaurant in Bath is just a short walk from the bus and train station

7:00pm Saturday 17th May 2014

I have passed Joya many times due its central location, but have never ventured inside. When my sister and mum visited Bath it was only a quick walk from the train station to indulge in some Italian food.

The Old Ham Tree, Ham Green, Holt, BA14 6PY. Tel: (01225) 782581 Web: www.theoldhamtree.com Email: theoldhamtree@gmail.com

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Old Ham Tree is a former coaching inn

7:00pm Saturday 10th May 2014

Given that Monday evenings are perhaps not a regular time to head out to seek a bite to eat, The Old Ham Tree certainly seemed very popular when we pitched up.

Mackenzies, Wood St, Swindon, SN1 4AB. Tel: 01793 430111. Web: www.mackenzies.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: A good place to relax after a long day and to enjoy a mojito or two with prices that don’t break the bank

7:00pm Saturday 3rd May 2014

After a hectic day at work I was looking for somewhere to unwind and, tempted by their two for one cocktail offer, popped into Mackenzies in Swindon.

Seafoods, Kingsmead Square, Bath BA1 1EN. Tel: 01225 465190. Web: www.seafoodsfishandchips.co.uk

7:00pm Saturday 3rd May 2014

Fish and chips is one of our national dishes, and this eat in/takeaway in the centre of Bath proudly boasts that it is one of the top five in the South West. We decided to put this to the test for a pre-theatre supper.

Deedar, Sidmouth Parade, Devizes. Tel: (01380) 720009. Web: http://www.just-eat.co.uk/restaurants-deedar-sn10

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: Deedar is so popular that people are willing to travel miles to get a takeaway there

7:00pm Saturday 26th April 2014

Curry houses have had to raise their game in the last few years. Serving the same rogan josh, biryani and korma as the place around the corner is no longer good enough.

EATING OUT: Weighbridge Brewhouse

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Weighbridge Brewhouse, Swindon, has dining on two levels, for an intimate rendezvous or a catch-up with friends

7:00pm Saturday 19th April 2014

I cannot think of a better restaurant in Wiltshire to spend an evening than Swindon’s Weighbridge Brewhouse.

American Museum’s Orangery Café, Claverton Manor, Claverton, Bath, BA2 7BD. Tel: (01225) 460503. Web: www.americanmusem.org

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The café is in a converted stable and orangery, part of the lovely mansion which houses the American Museum

7:00pm Saturday 12th April 2014

It was a lovely sunny spring day when we visited the museum, so we made the most of the weather and enjoyed the lovely views from the terrace in front of the main house to eat our lunch.

Works of art in basil- The Tramshead, Bath

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: Works of art in basil- The Tramshead, Bath

12:03pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

AFTER a day being pampered at the spa, my girlfriend and I decided to keep the treats going with a Sunday evening trip to The Tramshed in Bath.

The Jolly Huntsman, 80 Kington St Michael, SN14 6JB. Tel: 01249 750305. Web: www.jollyhuntsman.com.

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Jolly Huntsman

7:00pm Saturday 29th March 2014

After walking 10 miles of the Ridgeway, Andy and I were ready to rest our weary feet and fill our rumbling bellies, and since The Jolly Huntsman was named the Gazette & Herald pub of the year last year, we thought we’d go and see why.

Inn of summer delight

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Dumb Post Inn is a well-kept secret tucked away in country lanes in Bremhill that is well worth visiting

8:00pm Wednesday 19th March 2014

We enjoyed a hearty meal at the 18th-century Dumb Post Inn in Bremhill, which is tucked away down the country lanes and is a well-kept secret.

Mes Amis, Bath Road, Beckington, BA11 6SW. Tel: (01373) 830723

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: Mes Amis was filled with customers even on a Wednesday lunchtime and the staff were prompt and smiley

7:00pm Saturday 15th March 2014

For a local birthday lunch with friends, the name of this quaint French cafe was very apt.

French cafe is a gem

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: Mes Amis was filled with customers even on a Wednesday lunchtime and the staff were prompt and smiley

11:04am Monday 10th March 2014

For a local birthday lunch with friends, the name of this quaint French cafe was very apt.

The Cross Keys, High Street, Rode, BA11 6NZ. Tel: (01373) 830900. Web: www.crosskeys.butcombe.com

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The building that now houses the Cross Keys in Rode is on the site of the former Fussell’s Brewery

7:00pm Saturday 8th March 2014

Having recently researched a very old picture of workers at Fussell’s Brewery, I was keen to visit the village pub, which is where the brewery stood for hundreds of years.

Macaroni the real deal

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The building that now houses the Cross Keys in Rode is on the site of the former Fussell’s Brewery

10:17am Wednesday 5th March 2014

Having recently researched a very old picture of workers at Fussell’s Brewery, I was keen to visit the village pub, which is where the brewery stood for hundreds of years.

The Three Crowns, The Street, Brinkworth, SN15 5AF. Tel: (01666) 510366 Web: www.threecrownsbrinkworth.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: A chocolate royal pudding made a fitting end to a wonderfully well-cooked meal at The Three Crowns

7:00pm Saturday 1st March 2014

Having adored The Three Crowns, Brinkworth, under its previous owners, I was keen to go back and see how the pub/restaurant had changed.

The Pheasant, Bath Road, Chippenham, SN14 0AE. Tel: (01249) 444083, web: www.pheasantchippenham.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Pheasant had a range of meats on the menu, except for the one that would have been our reviewer’s top pick

7:00pm Saturday 22nd February 2014

Feeling hunger pains coming on after watching the exploits of Emmet, Lord Business and the other Master Builders in the crazy world of breakneck-paced and brightly-coloured animation that is The Lego Movie, we sought grounding back in the real world and hearty sustenance at The Pheasant.

The Lamb on the Strand, A361 between Semington and Seend. Tel: 01380 870263, web: www.thelambonthestrand.co.uk

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Lamb on the Strand, on the A361 between Semington and Seend, serves traditional pub favourites with a modern twist

7:00pm Saturday 15th February 2014

The Lamb on the Strand, an attractive looking red brick hostelry about a mile out of Semington on the main road between Trowbridge and Devizes, is one of those places you drive by a hundred times but never quite get round to trying out.

The Crown Inn, Giddeahall, A420, SN14 7ER. Tel: (01249) 783889, email: info@crowngiddeahall.co.u

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Crown Inn at Giddeahall has been revamped as a premier steakhouse

7:00pm Saturday 1st February 2014

Now under new management, the Crown Inn has been revamped as a premier steakhouse.

The White Bear, Monday Market Street, Devizes, 01380 727588

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The White Bear

12:00pm Saturday 1st February 2014

After an afternoon of shopping I was in the mood for some hearty pub grub so popped into the White Bear.

MENU: Smokin' good food at Americana restaurant

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: Travis Smutek, owner of Smoo’s Smokehouse, with a plateful of smoked fare Picture: ALEX SKENNERTON

11:04am Friday 31st January 2014

Smoo’s Smokehouse 5 Theatre Square, Swindon, SN1 1QN Tel: 01793 496993

MENU: The Chef's Table

The Wiltshire Gazette and Herald: The Chef's Table

10:43am Friday 31st January 2014

When did you first take an interest in cooking, and when did you decide you wanted to become a chef?


click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree